Ten University of Maryland Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

Ten University of Maryland Faculty Named AAAS Fellows
md formulations
Image by Merrill College of Journalism Press Releases
Online: ter.ps/fellows

Contact: Dave Ottalini [email protected] – 301-405-4076

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – Ten University of Maryland faculty are among the 702 new fellows recently named by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Election as a fellow of AAAS, the world’s largest general federation of scientists and the publisher of the journal Science, is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. The AAAS says these individuals have been elevated to this rank "because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished".

The new University of Maryland Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, February 16, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

Millard Alexander – For distinguished contributions to the field of theoretical and computational chemistry, particularly in the area of open shell species and non-adiabatic effects.

Andrew Baden – For distinguished contributions to the field of experimental particle physics, particularly for ideas contributing to the discovery of the top quark and to searches for new particles.

Marco Colombini – For distinguished contributions to the field of membrane channel biophysics, specifically for elucidating the structure and dynamics of channels formed in the mitochondrial outer membrane.

William Fagan – For contributions to the field of ecology, particularly in spatial, theoretical, and conservation-related topics involving population dynamics and species interactions.

Michael Fuhrer – For experimental studies of the fundamental electronic transport properties of nanostructured carbon materials.

Theodore Jacobson – For contributions to quantum gravity, black hole thermodynamics, and the formulation and phenomenology of Lorentz-violating modifications of particle and gravitational physics.

Christopher Monroe – For the development and demonstration of novel techniques for quantum information processing and quantum simulation with trapped ions.

Cynthia Moss – For distinguished research in the field of neuroethology, particularly for studies of sensory information processing, adapative behaviors, spatial perception and memory in echolocating bats.

Aravind Srinivasan – For distinguished contributions to algorithms, probabilistic methods, and networks.

Raymond St. Leger – For distinguished contributions to the fields of mycology, pathology and microbial control, particularly for studies unraveling the mechanisms by which fungi and insects interact.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections (which are noted on the Fellows list), by three Fellows, or by the Association’s chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and forwards a final list to the AAAS Council.

For more information on the nomination process and a database of current AAAS Fellows please see the AAAS website

About the AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science as well as Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling. AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to advance science and serve society through initiatives in science policy; international programs; science education; and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!, www.eurekalert.org, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS.

About the University of Maryland

The University of Maryland is the state’s flagship university and one of the nation’s preeminent public research universities. A global leader in research, entrepreneurship and innovation, Maryland is ranked No. 18 among public universities by U.S. News & World Report, has 32 academic programs in the U.S News Top 10 and 73 in the Top 25. The Institute of Higher Education (Jiao Tong University, Shanghai), which ranks the world’s top universities based on research, puts Maryland at No. 36 in the world and No. 12 among U.S. public universities. The university has produced six Nobel laureates, seven Pulitzer Prize winners, more than 40 members of the national academies and scores of Fulbright scholars. The university is recognized for its diversity, with underrepresented students comprising one-third of the student population. Please see the University of Maryland website for more information.

Leave a Reply